Home News De La Cruz wins final day time trial as Wellens claims Andalucia...

De La Cruz wins final day time trial as Wellens claims Andalucia overall title

Tim Wellens

David De La Cruz (Team Sky) has won the last stage of the Vuelta a Andalucia as Tim Wellens (Lotto Soudal) secured the overall victory.

De La Cruz stopped the clock at 17 minutes and 11 seconds on the 14.2km time trial. Andrey Amador (Movistar), Stef Clement (LottoNL-Jumbo), Alexis Gougeard (AG2R La Mondiale) and Marc Soler (Movistar) set good times but nobody came close to De La Cruz.

“It’s a really special feeling to take my first victory with Team Sky”, said De La Cruz. “Yesterday I felt really good during the stage, but in the end it didn’t really work out how we wanted, but we worked really well as a team“.

“This morning I wanted to do the best I could do and I didn’t know if I could take the victory or not. I felt good warming up and I said to myself, ‘David, you must go full gas’ and it’s really nice to have my first win in Team Sky colours.”

Wellens, who finished the stage over an hour after De La Cruz, finished eighth on the stage and won the overall title by eight seconds over former race leader Wout Poels. Poels completed the course three seconds faster than Wellens and finished sixth in the stage standings. However, it wasn’t enough to overhaul the 11-second deficit he began the day with.

Vuelta a Andalucia 2018 – stage 5 results (Barbate – Barbate ITT:

1 David De La Cruz (Team Sky)


2 Andrey Amador (Movistar)


3 Stef Clement (LottoNl-Jumbo)


4 Alexis Gougeard (AG2R La Mondiale)


5 Marc Soler (Movistar)


6 Wout Poels (Team Sky)


7 Dylan Van Baarle (Team Sky)


8 Tim Wellens (Lotto Soudal)


9 Jan Tratnik (CCC Sprandi Polkowice)


10 Luis León Sanchez (Astana)



Final general classification:

1 Tim Wellens (Lotto Soudal)


2 Wout Poels (Team Sky)


3 Marc Soler (Movistar)


4 Jakob Fuglsang (Astana)


5 Luis León Sanchez (Astana)


6 Mikel Landa (Movistar)


7 Steven Kruijswijk (LottoNl-Jumbo)


8 Simon Clarke (EF Education First-Drapac)


9 Andrey Amador (Movistar)


10 Chris Froome (Team Sky)