Home News Alaphilippe wins 2018 Tour of Britain as Ewan takes final stage

Alaphilippe wins 2018 Tour of Britain as Ewan takes final stage

Julian Alaphilippe wins Tour of Britain 2018

Julian Alaphilippe (Quick-Step Floors) wrapped up overall victory in the Tour of Britain on Sunday as Caleb Ewan (Mitchelton-Scott) won the final stage in London.

As expected, the 77-kilometre eighth and final stage finished in a bunch sprint, with Ewan winning ahead of Fernando Gaviria and Jasper De Buyst.

Alaphilippe protected his 17-second lead and completed victory ahead of Wout Poels (Team Sky) and Primoz Roglic (LottoNL-Jumbo).

“It’s always a nice feeling to win a race, especially the overall. This season has been fantastic so far and I’m happy to add one more success to my palmares, a victory which wouldn’t have been possible without my teammates’ fantastic support. I am proud of them and I want to say a big thank you for their help and the way they protected me throughout the week”, said Alaphilippe after the second GC win of his career.

Tour de France champion Geraint Thomas was 36th and Chris Froome was 85th after both played team roles.

“It was a pleasure to race here. I’d love to come back here in the future,” said Froome, riding in his first Tour of Britain since 2009. Both Froome and Thomas will miss this month’s road world championships in Austria.

“Physically and mentally I am not ready for it. I was suffering like a dog for an hour and a half (today).”, said Thomas.

Tour of Britain 2018 – stage 8 results (London – London):

1 Caleb Ewan (Mitchelton-Scott)


2 Fernando Gaviria (Quick-Step Floors)


3 Jasper De Buyst (Lotto Soudal)


4 Andrea Pasqualon (Wanty-Groupe Gobert)


5 Ethan Hayter (Great Britain)


6 Dion Smith (Wanty-Groupe Gobert)


7 Jean-Pierre Drucker (BMC)


8 Nils Eekhoff (Team Sunweb)


9 Paolo Simion (Bardiani-CSF)


10 Patrick Bevin (BMC)



Final general classification:

1 Julian Alaphilippe (Quick-Step Floors)


2 Wout Poels (Team Sky)


3 Primoz Roglic (LottoNL-Jumbo)


4 Patrick Bevin (BMC)


5 Bob Jungels (Quick-Step Floors)


6 Jasha Sütterlin (Movistar)


7 Neilson Powless (LottoNL-Jumbo)


8 Dmitry Strakhov (Katusha-Alpecin)


9 Christopher Hamilton (Team Sunweb)


10 Pascal Eenkhoorn (LottoNL-Jumbo)